June 14, 2024

Twenty20 Cricket: Getting To Know the Big Bash League

Twenty20 Cricket: Getting To Know the Big Bash League

The Big Bash League or KFC Big Bag League is often abbreviated to BBL or Big Bash. It’s an Australian men’s professional club established by Cricket Australia in the Twenty20 Cricket League 2011. Since its inception, fast food chicken outlet KFC has continued to sponsor the Big Bash. 

This league started in 2011-12, and its latest edition is in 2023-24. The games are held in Australia during the summer and from December to February. Those living outside the country can watch it stream online or on your registered sportsbook. 

The Big Bash League is one of the most sought-after leagues in cricket, and there’s so much information to know about them. If you’re a fan or looking to wager on the teams in this league, continue reading to learn more. 


Current Teams

Are you interested in placing big bash league bets on the top teams this 2023-24 season? If so, let’s discuss the current teams and what you should know about them! Currently, the Big Bash League has a total of 8 teams. 

Adelaide Strikers

Are you near the Adelaide Oval in South Australia? If so, you can watch the Adelaide Strikers’ home matches at their home here at their home court. They also play matches at another team’s territory, so you must look at their schedule to know where they’re currently playing.

Their captain for this season is Matt Short, and their current coach is the former Australian fast bowler Jason Gillespie. The Strikers won their title in the 2017-18 season, where they beat the Hurricanes with 25 runs in the finals and finished second in the regular season, just behind the Scorchers.

Brisbane Heat

Former Australia wicketkeeper Wade Seccombe is the coach for the Brisbane Heat this season, and their captain is Unman Khawaja. They only won their title in the 2012-13 season at the BBL02, defeating the Scorchers with 34 runs in the finals. Also, in the regular season, they finished in fourth place, which allowed them to make it to the finals. Their home court is at the Brisbane Cricket Ground in Queensland. 

Hobart Hurricanes

Sadly, the Hobart Hurricanes have yet to win in the tournament. Indeed, they’ve made it into two finals in the 2013-14 and 2017-18 seasons, but they’ve failed to win in either of those competitions. For some reason, back in 2014, they lost the win to the Scorchers. In 2018, they lost the win to the Strikers. 

The team can get a home advantage if they play at their home court, at the Bellerive Oval, Tasmania. If you watch their matches, you may even see their coach, former Australian cricket player Jeff Vaughan, and captain Nathan Ellis.

Melbourne Renegades

This team is coached by David Saker and captained by Nic Maddinson. Together, they work to figure out their game plans and practice. Their home stadium is at the Marvel Stadium in Victoria. They won their first title in the 2018-19 season, beating the Stars with 13 runs. To date, that was their first and only final appearance. However, they are still part of the current BBL teams.

Melbourne Stars

The names might be confusing between the two teams, but just be sure to remember the names Renegades and Stars. The Stars is coached by Peter Moores, who has excellent experience in coaching. Their captain is Glenn Maxwell, who sits in the all-time BBL scorers list. You can watch how they compete at their home stadium, the Melbourne Cricket Ground in Victoria and in their away matches, where they compete in their opponent’s territory. 

Perth Scorchers

The team you should keep your eye on this season is definitely the Perth Scorchers. Their captain is Ashton Turner, and together with his teammates, they made it to the first four finals. They won multiple tournaments thanks to Adam Voges’ coaching. 

Sydney Sixers

The Sixers’ captain has been Moises Henriques, and their coach has been Greg Shipperd since 2015. This coach has an excellent record of getting the team into playoffs.

Sydney Thunder

The Thunders only won one final, which was way back in the 2015-16 season. Indeed, they have a single BBL title, but things are looking up for the team thanks to their coach, Trevor Bayliss, a former English cricket coach, and captain Chris Green. 


Now that you know who the eight teams in the Big Bash League are, you can wager or cheer for the team you think will win. Of course, you have to learn about the schedule first for the 2023-24 season

  • December 19, 2023 (Tuesday) – Adelaide Strikers vs. Sydney Thunder
  • December 20, 2023 (Wednesday) – Perth Scorchers vs. Hobart Hurricanes
  • December 21, 2023 (Thursday) – Renegades vs. Brisbane Heat
  • December 22, 2023 (Friday) – Sydney Sixers vs. Adelaide Strikers
  • December 23, 2023 (Saturday) – Melbourne Stars vs. Sydney Thunder 
  • December 23, 2023 (Saturday) – Hobart Hurricanes vs. Renegades


Final Thoughts

The Big Bash League has a great set of teams that you should keep your eyes on. It has a long, rich history that you should dig up. Plus, the coaches and captains of each team definitely have the experience and leadership to bring their team to the finish line. 

Pick your favorite teams in the Big Bash League, and try to watch them live at their matches! Just take a look at their schedule this season. You surely won’t regret it. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *